Niger Assembly Recommends Suspension of 15 Council Chairmen over Interference With Financial Investigation

Niger state House of Assembly has recommended the suspension of 15 Local Government Council Chairmen in the State. The Chairmen are that of Mokwa, Gbako, Suleja, Gurara, Tafa, Paikoro, Bosso, Agwara, Borgu, Kontagora, Wushishi, Magama, Mariga, Mashegu and Rijau.

A copy of the House’s interim report of the Adhoc committee investigating contract financing loans of the 25 Local Governments of the state sighted by Nigerwatch Newspaper shows that the chairmen were found to have interfered with assignment of the committee.

The report also directed the suspension of N8million loan repayment for each LGA for failure of the Ministry for Local Government to obtain House Resolution as provided for by section 97(i) of the local Government laws 2001 (as amended) before the loan was obtained and failure of the bank to provide schedule of loan repayment as well as the ministry’s refusal to to give the committee a certified bank Statement of accounts of its inflow from the Federation account and its reserve funds. The report added

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *