Gov. Bello of Niger submits list of 17 commissioner nominees to the Niger state Assembly.

Gov. Abubakar Bello of Niger has submitted the names of 17 commissioner nominees to the State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

Nigerwatch reports that the list comes more than four months after the governor was sworn into office for a second term.

In a letter read on the floor of the House by the Speaker, Abdullahi Wuse, the governor said the submission of the list was in line with section 192 subsection 1 of the 1999 constitution as amended.

The nominees include Nasara Dan Mallam, Zakari Abubakar, Haliru Jikantoro, Abdul Malik Sarkin Daci, Mukhtar Nasaleh, Ramatu Yardua, Ibrahim Panti, Hannatu Saleh.

Others are Mustapha Jibrin, Yusuf Suleiman, Emmanuel Umar, Mohammed Idris, Tanko Zakari, Sunday Kolo, Haruna Dukku, Mamman Musa and Maku Sidi.

Nigerwatch reports that 8 out of the 17 nominees are returnees having served in the first tenure of the present administration.

The governor also sought the house permission to appoint 18 special advisers to assist him in running the affairs of the state.

The House thereafter resolved to consider the list at its next executive session before fixing a date for the screening of the nominees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *